Image

My first post in actually years…I’m finally taking a few minutes to reflect today.  Life is great.  I have all I could ever need, I am a part-time student, stay-at-home mom, I have an amazing supportive and loving boyfriend, friends, family and a home that although I enjoy, I want to down-size and start fresh with my new life. Still….some days I feel very down, confused, lost.  On these days, I think about what is bothering me.  I have learned that by actually spending time with the sadness, making myself go through it then deciding that I don’t want to feel this way today, really helps.  An amazing book that I read while going through my divorce is Change Your Mind and Your Life Will Follow.  The basic gist is that we have control over how we react to our feelings, to others, and that we can make a concious decison to change.  I realize that those of us who suffer from depression, myself included, must usually do other things to gain control of our moods etc…but this book is very inspiring for those simply “off” days. 

A few other things I enjoy doing in the winter are making a cup of tea, sitting by the fireplace, lighting candles, and accomplishing one thing on my to do list during that particularly bad day.  So off I go to read for my next assignment… alone in the big bad house except for my step/adopted little dogs but I have my comfort items surrounding me so it will be a good day…

